• Hardiness Zone

    4 – 8

  • Height

    50 – 70 feet

  • Spread

    20 – 30 feet

  • Autumn Color

    Red, orange, yellow

More Information

The Hickory tree encompasses 17-19 different species including Bitternut, Shagbark and Shellbark. Hickory trees are strong and tough and can grow up to 90 feet tall. Its hard wood is used to make a variety of products.

Hickory trees have multiple, narrow leaflets (five or more) on a stem/branch. There are an odd number of leaflets on each stem. Leaves are green but in the fall turn to red, yellow and orange.

In spring, flowers bloom on the Hickory branches, displaying small, yellowish-green catkins. These emerge into husks containing nuts which are enjoyed by animals and humans alike. They are oval and enclosed in a husk which splits at maturity. Some of the nuts are bitter, but others, from Shagbark and Shellbark trees are quite tasty.

Hickory trees grow best in full sunlight to partial shade. They tolerate most soils but require good drainage. Hardiness Zone: 4-8.